Student Spotlight: Rafael Goldchain

Hometown: Toronto
Research Interests: Contemporary photography
Website: https://rafael-goldchain.squarespace.com/

unnamed

1. What do you do outside of class/academic work?
The honest truth is that other than the occasional social event, I spend all my time reading and writing. From time to time I do a photo session. I am currently waiting for a good snowfall to go out there and shoot.

2. How did you get started with this activity?
Photography? I have loved making photographs since I was a teen. My Dad was a big influence. Later, I got a darkroom together in my university dormitory, and later in the kibbutz I volunteered at. I went to Ryerson for undergrad Film and Photography.

3. What’s the most interesting thing about you that we wouldn’t learn from your CV/resume alone?
I have a passion for music. I beat up on a guitar, sing in a choir and play classical violin.

4. What’s next for you?
After finishing course work this semester I plan a summer of travel, and serious work in photography.

5. What is your favourite thing about Toronto?
Its diverse geography and culture. Its a very stimulating city at this time. This was not the case when I first came here in 1976.

6. You’re a new addition to the crayon box. What color would you be and why?
I would be ruby red. My political ideas tend to lean left, I am very passionate. On the outside I may seem happy and well adjusted. On the inside the passions rage. Besides all that, I think red is just a pretty colour. 🙂

BONUS! The University of Toronto Libraries carry Rafael’s catalogues, the most recent of which is I am my family : photographic memories and fictions (available in the Art Library and Robarts).

Leave a Reply

