Student Spotlight: Paula Gheorghiade

Hometown: Zalau, Romania
Research Interests: Late Bronze Age trade and mobility; Minoan archaeology; value systems; trade networks; material culture; materiality; object biographies; social network theory and method; archaeological techniques; antiquities trafficking and art crime; digital archaeology; data visualization.
Website: https://www.linkedin.com/in/paulagh/

dsc_1086

1. What do you do outside of class/academic work?
I’m the Social Media Coordinator for SAFE/Saving Antiquities for Everyone Inc., so in my spare time I like to read up on current issues involving art crime and the trafficking of antiquities especially in light of recent socio-political events around the world. I also own an online vintage shop, which means I get to select, style, and shoot my own products and that’s a process that I love from start to finish. Aside from that, I practice yoga, barre, and play board games.

2. How did you get started with this activity?
I was introduced to SAFE through Rachel Dewan (thanks Rachel!) and realized it was something I was passionate about, while having my own business was always something I’ve wanted to explore.

3. What’s the most interesting thing about you that we wouldn’t learn from your CV/resume alone?
I recently adopted a cat from Palaikastro, the village on Crete where I’ve excavated with the Palace and Landscape at Palaikastro Project (PALAP) since 2012 and brought her with me to Toronto! It took us 4 flights but we got here! I’m also very passionate about animal welfare and I regularly donate to various charities or GoFund me campaigns dealing with rescuing animals around the world.

4. What’s next for you?
This year is really exciting for me because I am working on writing up my doctoral thesis and the report for the five year PALAP campaign that will be published in a couple of years!

5. What is your favourite thing about Toronto?
My favourite thing about Toronto is probably the diversity, especially downtown. I love that I live in such a vibrant, multicultural community that unbashedly embraces every aspect of its diversity from art, to cuisine, to fashion, to music there’s always something to do. More recently, I’ve been quite taken by how strong the fabric of our community is, and how readily my neighbors will stand with me against injustice.

6. You’re a new addition to the crayon box. What color would you be and why?
Without a doubt, Kriti blue, an ode to the bluest of blue summer skies on Crete that cannot be described or captured, only experienced. But I suppose, we could try it with a crayon.

Photo Credit: Kostis Voutirakis

Leave a Reply

