Student Spotlight: Madeliene Kattman

Hometown: Denver, Colorado, USA
Research Interests: Performance art and its architecture, queer theory and a growing interest in the Gunpowder Empire’s various illuminated manuscripts.

IMG_3754.JPG

1. What do you do outside of class/academic work?
I collect rocks and minerals, mostly just the cute ones that I can admire. I think that geology is fascinating and it is usually completely outside the realm of art history, so it provides a nice break when I need it. I’ve fully identified, archived and documented my collection (they have archival reference numbers, where I bought them and I have the mining information on a few). When I moved from Denver, I bought a special travel case so that even the most fragile rutile would survive the move.

2. How did you get started with this activity?
I’ve been collecting rocks and minerals since I was a kid, I think we all do this to an extent. But I didn’t seriously start collecting them until a few years ago when my partner and I were driving through Buena Vista (a small mountain town in Colorado) and stopped in a mineral store and saw a colourless hemimorphite with crystal fans for the first time, which became the first piece in my official collection.

3. What’s the most interesting thing about you that we wouldn’t learn from your CV/resume alone?
I’ve been in On Kawara’s studio.

4. What’s next for you?
I am going to England in May, and after that I plan on building my research and applying for PhD programs in the fall.

5. What is your favourite thing about Toronto?
All of the vegan food.

6. You’re a new addition to the crayon box. What color would you be and why?
Keeping in the theme of minerals; I would be stilbite which has a nice pastel/frosty peach colour, because it reminds me of cotton candy and I like to think that I’m soft and fluffy like cotton candy.

Leave a Reply

