Student Spotlight: Claire Jensen

Hometown: Nantucket, Massachusetts
Research Interests: Italian late medieval art and architecture, especially their intersections in patronage and piety; finding the things left behind in the “Renaissance” narrative and proving they’re worth studying – even if they’re not carried by an artistic genius like Michelangelo

DSC_0487_4.jpg

1. What do you do outside of class/academic work?
Every other Saturday I tutor a grade 11 student. I help her write essays, learn study skills, and occasionally counsel her about high school struggles (so many feelings!)

2. How did you get started with this activity?
I am a Junior Fellow at Massey College, an interdisciplinary graduate college at U of T. We sponsor social events, hold lectures, and have this tutoring program pairing up local high school students with grad student tutors. I worked in a residential boarding school before starting my PhD so talking to teenagers is something I’m used to doing and enjoy.

3. What’s the most interesting thing about you that we wouldn’t learn from your CV/resume alone?
I don’t know if this is the most interesting thing, but I really love dogs.

4. What’s next for you?
Comprehensive exams!

5. What is your favourite thing about Toronto?
Going for walks in different neighborhoods. I like how every part of the city has a slightly different feel and enjoy looking for interesting architectural juxtapositions.

6. You’re a new addition to the crayon box. What colour would you be and why?
Probably some kind of grey-blue combo. I grew up on a island so any colour that the ocean can turn makes me feel at ease and the most like myself.

Leave a Reply

